ACTIVITIES OF UCLA CENTER FOR GOVERNANCE IN 2000/01

1. Events organized by UCLA Center for Governance

Conference on The New Biopolitics (Rational Choice is Nearly Dead)
November 17/18, 2000 UCLA Faculty Center

Conference on The Rules of the Game of Politics in the Middle Ages and the Renaissance
March 1/2, 2001 UCLA Faculty Center

Conference on Biopolitics II
March 29/30/31, 2001 UCLA Faculty Center

Workshop on Darwinian Medicine
May 11, UCLA Faculty Center

Conference on It's Better to Rely on Well-designed Institutions than on Well-behaved People
May 18/19, 2001 UCLA Faculty Center

2. Events co-sponsored by UCLA Center for Governance

Conference on Computational Social Science I
October 20, 2000 UCLA Anderson School

Conference on Computational Social Science II
January 19, 2001 UCLA Anderson School

Conference on Evolution and Social Behavior
April 20, 2001 UCLA Faculty Center

Conference on Computational Social Science III
May 4, 2001 UCLA Anderson School

Behavior, Evolution, and Culture (BEC) Workshop
Every Week Mondays at Noon

Communication Studies Forum
Monthly at irregular intervals

Jacob Marschak Interdisciplinary Colloquium on Mathematics in the Behavioral Sciences
Alternative Fridays 1-3 pm UCLA Anderson School C-301

3. Events that are not organized or co-sponsored by UCLA Center for Governance but come strongly recommended to its Friends

Conference on The Embodied Mind: Cognitive Metaphor Theory and the Humanities
October 13/14, 2000 University of Southern California

Conference on Social Cognitive Neuroscience
April 26-28, 2001 UCLA Faculty Center

DIRECTIONS TO UCLA FACULTY CENTER AND
PARKING INSTRUCTIONS

If you are coming to UCLA from South via 405 (San Diego Freeway)
1. Take 405 (San Diego Freeway) to Wilshire Boulevard East
2. Travel East on Wilshire for four blocks and turn Left on Glendon Avenue
3. Travel one block on Glendon and turn Right on Hilgard Avenue
5. Travel several blocks on Hilgard and turn Left on Westholme Avenue (this is the Hilgard/Westholme entrance to UCLA)
6. Immediately on your Right is the Hilgard/Westholme Information Booth, where you can buy a parking sticker
7. Immediately on your Left is Parking Lot 2
8. Behind the Hilgard/Westholme Information Booth is UCLA Faculty Center

If you are coming to UCLA from East via 10 (Santa Monica Freeway),
1. Take 10 (Santa Monica Freeway) to 405 (San Diego Freeway) North
2. Follow the instructions above

You will find a map at www.transportation.ucla.edu.
The Rules of the Game of Politics in the Middle Ages
Research Conference on
The Rules of the Game of Politics in the Middle Ages

Getty Museum
February 28, 2001
UCLA Faculty Center
March 1-2, 2001

Organizer: Susanne Lohmann, UCLA Department of Political Science
Sponsor: UCLA Center for Governance gov@ucla.edu
Co-sponsor: UCLA Center for Medieval and Renaissance Studies cmrs@humnet.ucla.edu

Conference papers (some of them) available at http://www.cfg.ucla.edu/.
Parking for UCLA Faculty Center: Info Booth Hilgard/Westholme Entrance-Lot 2.
Directions and parking instructions are at the bottom of this schedule.

Each session is one hour long.
Speakers-30 minutes, discussants-10 minutes.
Panel speakers-20 minutes, panel discussants-5 minutes.

WEDNESDAY FEBRUARY 28 AFTERNOON

4pm meet in Getty Museum Entrance Hall.

Thomas Kren, Curator of Manuscripts and Elizabeth Teviotdale, Associate Curator of Manuscripts

VIP tour of the Manuscript Study Room and the exhibition Ritual Spendor: Illuminated Liturgical Manuscripts

Space is limited. Please contact Susanne Lohmann at lohmann@ucla.edu to sign up.

Dinner immediately following (approx. 7pm) at R–ckenwagner, 2345 Main Street, cross-streets Ocean Park and Pico, Santa Monica, 310-399-6504.

THURSDAY MARCH 1 MORNING

Breakfast 7:30-8:15am

SESSION I: SYMBOLIC COMMUNICATION 8:15am-noon

Chair: Susanne Lohmann, UCLA Department of Political Science lohmann@ucla.edu 

Speaker: Gerd Althoff, Universit”t M¸nster Department of History althofg@uni-muenster.de
"Symbolic Communication in the Middle Ages"

Discussant: Daniel Friedman, University of California Santa Cruz Department of Economics dan@cats.ucsc.edu

Break 9:15-9:30am

Chair: Deborah Larson, UCLA Department of Political Science dlarson@polisci.ucla.edu

Speaker: Barry O'Neill, Stanford University Department of Political Science barry.oneill@stanford.edu
"Love Symbolism in the Lai de L'Ombre"

Discussant: Scott Waugh, UCLA Department of History scottw@college.ucla.edu

Break 10:30-11am

Chair: John Schumann, UCLA Department of Applied Linguistics schumann@humnet.ucla.edu

Richard Anderson, UCLA Department of Political Science randerso@ucla.edu
"Is Medieval Political Discourse Distinctive?"

Discussant: Gail Lenhoff, UCLA Department of Slavic Languages and Literature lenhoff@humnet.ucla.edu

Lunch noon-1pm

THURSDAY MARCH 1 AFTERNOON

SESSION II: INSTITUTIONS 1-4:45pm

Chair: Richard McElreath, UCLA Department of Anthropology rlm@ucla.edu

Speaker: Avner Greif, Stanford University Department of Economics avner@leland.stanford.edu
"Cultural Beliefs and the Organization of Society"

Discussant: Robert Boyd, UCLA Department of Anthropology rboyd@anthro.ucla.edu

Break 2-2:15pm

Chair: Scott Bartchy, UCLA Department of History bartchy@history.ucla.edu

Speaker: Iain MacLean Oxford University Nuffield College Iain.Mclean@nuffield.oxford.ac.uk
"Voting in Medieval Universities and Religious Orders"

Discussant: David Epstein, Columbia University Department of Political Science de11@columbia.edu

Break 3:15-3:45pm

Chair: Barbara Koremenos, UCLA Department of Political Science barbk@ucla.edu

Speaker: Warren Brown California Institute of Technology Division of Humanities and Social Sciences wcb@hss.caltech.edu
"How Institutions Matter in the Early Middle Ages"

Discussant: Thomas Borcherding, Claremont Graduate University Department of Economics borchert@cgu.edu

Break 4:45-5:15pm

 SESSION III: PANEL ON THE BODY 5:15-6:15pm

Chair: Victor Wolfenstein, UCLA Department of Political Science evw@ucla.edu

Panel Speaker: Daniel Fessler, UCLA Department of Anthropology dfessler@anthro.ucla.edu
"Starvation, Serotonin, and Symbols: A Psychobiocultural Perspective on Stigmata"

Panel Discussants:

Henry Ansgar Kelly, UCLA Department of English kelly@humnet.ucla.edu

Francis Steen, University of California Santa Barbara Department of English steen@cogweb.net

Arthur DeVany, University of California, Irvine Institute of Mathematical Behavioral Science and Department of Economics asdevany@uci.edu

Dinner 7pm at JR Seafood, 11901 Santa Monica Boulevard, in a strip mall north side of the street east of Bundy, Tel. (310) 268 2463

FRIDAY MARCH 2 MORNING

Breakfast 7:30-8:15am

SESSION IV: RITUALS 8:15am-noon

Chair: Patrick Geary, UCLA Department of History geary@ucla.edu

Speaker: Philippe Buc, Stanford University Department of History igorbuc@leland.stanford.edu
"Rituals: A History of the Concept and Its Dangers for the Medievalist"

Discussant: David Kronenfeld, UC Riverside Department of Anthropology kfeld@citrus.ucr.edu

Break 9:15-9:30am

Chair: Richard Rosecrance, UCLA Department of Political Science rosecran@polisci.ucla.edu

Speaker: Gerd Althoff, Universit”t M¸nster Department of History althofg@uni-muenster.de
 "The Binding Force of Medieval Rituals"

Discussant: Abel Alves, Ball State University Department of History aalves@gw.bsu.edu

Break 10:30-11am

Chair: Thomas Willett, Claremont Graduate University thomas.willett@cgu.edu

Speaker: Michael Suk-Young Chwe, New York University Department of Economics and Department of Politics and University of Utah Department of Economics michael@chwe.net
"Rational Ritual: Culture, Coordination, and Common Knowledge"

Discussant: Douglas Hill, University of California Department of Logic and Philosophy of Science dehill@uci.edu

Lunch noon-1pm

FRIDAY MARCH 3 AFTERNOON
 
SESSION V: POLITICAL COMPETITION 1-4:45pm

Chair: Carlo Tognato, UCLA Department of Political Science ctognato@ucla.edu ctognato@hotmail.com

Speaker: John Padgett, University of Chicago Department of Political Science and Santa Fe Institute jpadgett@midway.uchicago.edu
 "Family, Parties, and Factions in Renaissance Florence"

Discussant: Teofilo Ruiz, UCLA Department of History tfruiz@history.ucla.edu

Break 2-2:15pm

Chair: Sharon Farmer, UC Santa Barbara Department of History farmer@humanitas.ucsb.edu

Speaker: Claudia Rapp, UCLA Department of History rapp@history.ucla.edu
"People and Power in Byzantium"

Discussant: James DeNardo, UCLA Department of Political Science jdenardo@ucla.edu

Break 3:15-3:45pm

Chair: Piotr Gorecki, UC Riverside Department of History gorecki@ucrac1.ucr.edu

Speaker: Robert D. Tollison, University of Mississippi School of Business btollison@bus.olemiss.edu
"The Medieval Church and Protestant Entry"

Discussant: Anthony Gill, University of Washington Department of Political Science tgill@u.washington.edu

Break 4:45-5:15pm

SESSION VI: PANEL ON MONGOL WARFIGHTING 5:15-6:15pm

Chair: Hayward Alker, University of Southern California School of International Relations alker@rcf-fs.usc.edu

Speaker: Thad Brown, Los Alamos National Laboratory Center for Nonlinear Studies thad.brown@worldnet.att.net
"Nonlinear Dynamics of Mongol Warfighting"

Discussant: Douglas White, University of California Irvine Institute of Mathematical Behavioral Science and Department of Anthropology drwhite@orion.oac.uci.edu

Dinner 6:30pm  at Moustache CafÈ in Westwood, 1071 Glendon Ave, cross-streets are Weburn and Kinross, parking is diagonally opposite of the restaurant, Tel. (310) 208-6633.